Release Date: August 23, 2024

Product Links:  


• SoulMusic Records (SMR) in association with The Second Disc presents a 4CD box set of First Choice’s groundbreaking recordings for Salsoul’s Gold Mind imprint.

• Featuring 45 tracks including expanded editions of the three full-length albums.

• Plus a specially curated fourth disc that includes remixes and re-inventions. All audio has been newly remastered by Nick Robbins.

• Key tracks include ‘Doctor Love’, ‘Let No Man Put Asunder’, ‘Double Cross’ and ‘Love Thang’ which became club classics during the late 70; as pioneers in the early days of disco, two of First Choice’s 1973 recordings for the Philly Groove label, ‘Armed And Extremely Dangerous’ and ‘Smarty Pants’, achieved pop success in the UK, setting the stage for the timeless anthems contained on this exciting collection which includes the group’s R&B, pop and dance charted hits for Gold Mind.

• First Choice’s recordings for Gold Mind have been sampled extensively with over 500 samples of the ‘Shep Pettibone Original Mix’ of ‘Let No Man Put Asunder’, which was also covered by Mary J. Blige on her 1999 double platinum album, ‘Mary’.

• With a deluxe booklet designed by Roger Williams featuring liner notes by author Craig Seymour which includes quotes from a 2024 interview with First Choice original member Rochelle Fleming along with insightful essays from reissue producers Tim Dillinger and Joe Marchese; and reflections from a personal perspective from SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan.

Includes productions from Norman Harris, Ron Kersey, Ron Baker, Earl Young, Bruce Hawes, Thor Baldursson, Tom Moulton, McKinley Jackson, Melvin and Mervin Steals, Allan Felder, Cary “Hippy” Gilbert and T.G. Conway, with mixes and re-edits by Tee Scott, David Morales, the Basement Boys, Walter Gibbons, Tony Humphries, Danny Tenaglia, Frankie Knuckles, Shep Pettibone, and others.


1.  Doctor Love (5:14)
2. Indian Giver (5:03)
3. Love Having You Around (6:45)
4. Gamble On Love (2:46)
5. Chances Go Around (5:52)
6. I Love You More Than Before (4:11)
7. Let No Man Put Asunder (4:22)
8. Do Me Again (3:45)
9. Jimmy “D” (2:50)
Bonus Tracks:
10. Doctor Love (Original Tom Moulton Disco 12″ Mix) (7:33)<
11. Doctor Love (Original Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (8:24)
12. Let No Man Put Asunder (Original Shep Pettibone 12″ Mix) (7:57)
13. Let No Man Put Asunder (Original Frankie Knuckles 12″ Mix) (7:34)
14. Let No Man Put Asunder (Original Acapella Version) (4:15)


1. Let Me Down Easy (6:33)
2. Good Morning Midnight (3:55)
3. Great Expectations (5:31)
4. Hold Your Horses (5:45)
5. Love Thang (5:36)
6. Double Cross (6:56)
Bonus Tracks:
7. Now That I’ve Thrown It All Away (3:38)
8. Love Thang (12” Disco Mix) (7:53)
9. Double Cross (Tom Moulton Remix) (10:02)
10. Double Cross (12” Larry Levan Remix) (7:20)
11. Love Thang (Original Acapella Version) (6:08)
12. Double Cross (Original Acapella Version) (4:35)


1. I’m the One (4:13)
2. Breakaway (5:49)
3. Sittin’ Pretty (4:48)
4. A Happy Love Affair (4:41)
5. Pressure Point (5:54)
6. I Can Show You (Better Than I Can Tell You) (7:21)
7. Can’t Take It With You (4:58)
8. House for Sale (3:30)
Bonus Track:
9. Breakaway (12” Mix) (6:51)


1. Love Thang (David Morales Remix) (8:16)
2. Doctor Love (Basement Boys Respectful Club Mix) (8:33)
3. Let No Man Put Asunder (Walter Gibbons Disco Madness Mix) (4:36)
4. Pressure Point (Tony Humphries New Celcius Mix) (6:24)
5. Double Cross (Danny Tenaglia Swing Mix) (7:46)
6. Love Thang (Def Version) (7:15)
7. I Can Show You (Better Than I Can Tell You) (Phonk D Edit) (6:17)
8. Love Having You Around (Late Night Tuff Guy Rework) (6:35)
9. Doctor Love (David’s Jam) (11:53)
10. Love Thang (David’s Original Version) (9:51)