June 3-10


Two albums from the premier song stylist from the late ‘70s, ‘This Mother’s Daughter’ remains one of the most soulful records cut by Nancy Wilson during her Capitol tenure.  Helmed by producer Eugene McDaniels, it’s filled with subtle but ingenious jazz-funk flourishes. Includes the R&B charted singles, “Now” and “In My Loneliness (When We Were One”);  1977’s ‘I’ve Never Been To Me’ resumes Nancy’s association with producer Gene Page and includes the US R&B 45, “I’ve Never Been To Me,” later covered by Motown artist Charlene. This 2-CD set, with stellar liner notes by renowned writer Kevin Goins, was originally reissued on SoulMusic Records in 2012 and is being re-released through popular demand.

STONEY & MEATLOAF: Everything Under The Sun – The Motown Recordings (2CD) (Second Disc Records/Real Gone Music)

This 2-CD, 28-track anthology premieres the original 1971 Stoney and Meatloaf album on CD, bolstered by four mono single versions on the first disc including Stoney and Meatloaf’s non-LP cover of Motown classic “The Way You Do the Things You Do.” CD 2 opens with Stoney’s eight solo recordings for the label, only two of which have ever seen release on a rare 1973 single.  Both sides of the released single were written and produced by the team of Nick Zesses and Dino Fekaris (with Motown mainstay Bea Verdi collaborating on “It’s Always Me”) while Stoney’s six previously unreleased sides – all recorded in Los Angeles following the label’s exodus there – include Jerry Fuller’s “Touch and Go,” Dan Penn and Spooner Oldham’s “A Woman Left Lonely,” and funky Motown staple “Mo Jo Hannah,” all helmed by Joe Porter, and two collaborations with Bob Gaudio: Stoney’s original “Stone Liberty,” the track of which was then supplied to Diana Ross, and a dramatic solo remake of “Sunshine (Where’s Heaven).”  From pop to blues, rock, and soul, these tracks showcase Stoney’s tremendous versatility.

The second disc concludes with a clutch of brand-new stereo mixes by acclaimed engineer Kevin Reeves (The Supremes, Cream, John Coltrane) from Stoney and Meatloaf including the stereo premiere of “The Way You Do the Things You Do” and full restorations of the duo’s complete vocals to the outtakes which premiered, sans Stoney’s leads, on the controversial 1978 reissue Meatloaf Featuring Stoney and Meatloaf.

Everything has been mastered by Kevin Reeves.  The 36-page deluxe booklet designed by John Sellards features previously unreleased photos as well as an essay by TSD’s Randy Fairman drawing on fresh interviews with Shaun Murphy and original album producer Ralph Terrana.  Produced by Joe Marchese and Andrew Skurow, Everything Under the Sun: The Motown Recordings proves that rock and roll dreams do, indeed, come through.

WILLIAM BELL: Never Like This Before – The Complete Blue Stax Singles 1961-1968 (CD) (Kent Records)

Iconic veteran Southern soul man William Bell has been in the business of making records for 66 years, and was with Memphis’ fabled Stax label for virtually it’s entire 15-year existence (1960-1975). In that time, he composed and recorded many songs that are rightly regarded as classics, from his Stax debut ‘You Don’t Miss Your Water’ to the classic blues song ‘Born Under A Bad Sign’; includes he A and B-sides all of William’s solo singles for Stax. “Never Like This Before” covers the first seven years of William’s Stax catalog and rounds up all 14 of the singles that came out on Stax’s original blue label design with the ‘Stack Of Records’ logo.




June 17

KOOL & THE GANG: THE ALBUMS, VOL 1, 1970-1978 (13-CD box set) (Edsel)

    June 17

GEORGE DUKE: No Rhyme, No Reason – The Elektra/Warner Years  (3CD) (SoulMusic Records)

 A 45-track, 3-CD set of musical gems, drawing from George’s three Elektra albums, ‘Thief In The Night’, ‘George Duke’ and ‘Night After Night’ and his six Warner Brothers albums, ‘Snapshot’, ‘The Muir Woods Suite’, ‘Illusions’, ‘Is Love Enough?’, ‘After Hours’ and ‘Cool’; plus a non-album “B” cut, ‘Guilty (Part 2)’ making its worldwide CD debut.

George Duke’s diverse musical history included stints with Jean-Luc Ponty, Al Jarreau, Frank Zappa (as a member of The Mothers Of Invention for a year), Cannonball Adderley and Billy Cobham – began a seven-year tenure with Epic Records, the focus of the SoulMusic Records’ 2016 anthology, ‘Shine On’ (SMCR-5140D). ‘No Rhyme, No Reason’ picks up where that 2CD set left off with handpicked cuts that reflect George Duke’s multi-faceted mastery in Jazz, Funk, Soul and Pop and includes five US R&B charted singles and confirms his place as a staple artist in the world of Smooth Jazz.

This sumptuous collection, created by founder David Nathan with invaluable project support from renowned US music journalist A Scott Galloway, features extensive notes by acclaimed UK writer Charles Waring with 2022 quotes from musicians Paul Jackson Jr, Byron Miller and Everette Harp who all worked with George for many years.