SoulMusic Records (SMR) and other Cherry Red-related titles are now available again by popular demand!

May 6, 2022

Deluxe re-issue of the Gwen Guthrie’s Top 20 US R&B album which spawned the dance/soul hit ‘Outside In The Rain’ and a potent reading of the Bacharach-David classic, ‘(They Long To Be) Close To You’. Centred around the now-classic dance and soul anthem ‘Ain’t Nothin’ Goin’ On But The Rent’, her debut album ‘Good To Go Lover’ followed the song’s huge international success, a #1 US R&B and Top 50 pop hit. Featuring four bonus tracks including the non-album B-side, ‘Save Your Love For Me’, a duet with Surface.

1 (They Long To Be) Close To You; 2 Outside In The Rain; 3 Good To Go Lover; 4 You Touched My Life; 5 Ain’t Nothin’ Goin’ On But The Rent; 6 I Still Want You; 7 Stop Holding Back; 8 Passion Eyes Bonus Tracks: 9 Ain’t Nothin’ Goin’ On But The Rent (US 12” Club Mix); 10 Outside In The Rain (US Single Edit); 11 Save Your Love For Me (US Non-Album ‘B’ Side); 12 (They Long To Be) Close To You (US Single Edit)

Reissue of 1975 album includes one bonus track, the Top 10 US R&B single version of ‘You’re Fooling You’. Plus liner notes by renowned US writer Quentin Harrison with quotes from Michael Henderson.

1 You’re Fooling You; 2 She’s A Rainmaker; 3 I Was The Life Of The Party; 4 Things Are Changing;
5 I’m Gonna Love You To The Max; 6 Dramatic Theme / Treat Me Like A Man; 7 Just Shopping (Not Buying Anything); 8 Come Out Of Your Thing; 9 I’ll Make It So Good; Bonus Track: 10 You’re Fooling You (US ABC Single)

This 2013 expanded edition of this classic 1983 album includes three bonus tracks along with liner notes by Billboard Senior Editor, Gail Mitchell with new quotes from Roberta Flack.

1. Tonight, I Celebrate My Love; 2. Blame It On Me; 3. Heaven Above Me; 4. Born To Love; 5. Maybe; 6. I Just Came Here To Dance; 7. Comin’ Alive; 8. You’re Looking Like Love To Me; 9. Can We Find Love Again Bonus Tracks: 10. You’re Looking Like Love To Me (US Capitol Single Edit); 11. Heaven Above Me (UK Capitol Single Edit); 12. Heaven Above Me (UK Capitol 12″ Single)

This deluxe 2-CD set includes Jonathan’s self-titled second LP for Jive. First issued back in 1987, the double-album peaked at No. 12 on the UK charts. This success fuelled the Top 20 success of the single ‘Lies’, a song later nominated for a Grammy.

Disc One: 1. Lies; 2. Love Songs, Candlelight And You; 3. Going Home; 4. I Miss Your Love Tonight; 5. Holding On; 6. One More Dance; 7. Take Good Care Of Me; 8. Barenese; 9. All Over You; 10. Overflowing; 11. Loving You; 12. Sunset; 13. Say We’ll Be Together; 14. Give A Little More Loving; 15. Reunion; 16. High Tide; Disc Two: Bonus Tracks: 1. Holding On (Extended Version); 2. Song For Jon; 3. Lies (Extended Version); 4. Overflowing (Extended Version); 5. Holding On (7″ Version); 6. Lies (Edited Version); 7. Thinking Of You (Instrumental); 8. Holding On (Instrumental)

Debut album from the late, great Edwin Starr, expertly remastered and complete with extensive liner notes and several bonus tracks. Released on Motown’s Gordy imprint in 1968. Expanded edition includes Ric-Tic releases prior to Edwin’s signing with Motown.

1 Agent Double-O-Soul; 2 I Am The Man For You Baby; 3 Stop Her On Sight (S.O.S); 4 Oh How Happy; 5 Way Over There; 6 My Weakness Is You; 7 Headline News; 8 Soul Master; 9 I Want My Baby Back; 10 Love Is My Destination;
11 I Am Your Man; 12 Time Is Passin’ By; Bonus Tracks: 13 Agent Double-O-Soul (Stereo Mix); 14 Back Street (Single Version); 15 Stop Her On Sight (Sos) (Single Version); 16 I Have Faith In You (Single Version); 17 Headline News (Single Version); 18 Harlem (Single Version); 19 It’s My Turn Now; 20 Girl’s Are Getting Prettier (Single Version); 21 You’re My Mellow (Single Version); 22 My Kind Of Woman (Single Version); 23 I Want My Baby Back (Single Version); 24 Gonna Keep Tryin’ ‘Til I Win Your Love (Single Version); 25 I Am The Man For You Baby (Single Version); 26 My Weakness Is You (Single Version); 27 Way Over There (Single Version); 28 Back Street (Instrumental Version); 29 Agent Double-O-Soul (Instrumental Version)

Remastered and repackaged edition of The Spinners’ self- titled 1973Atlantic album, with eight bonus tracks (including original demos after their signing to Atlantic Records in 1972) and a brand new interview with Thom Bell.

1 Just Can’t Get You Out Of My Mind; 2 Just You And Me Baby ;3 Don’t Let The Green Grass Fool You; 4 I Could Never (Repay Your Love) 5 I’ll Be Around; 6 One Of A Kind (Love Affair); 7 We Belong Together; 8 Ghetto Child; 9 How Could I Let You Get Away; 10 Could It Be I’m Falling In Love; Bonus Tracks: 11 (Oh Lord) I Wish I Could Sleep; 12 I Just Gotta Make It Happen; 13 Mr Big Man; 14 You Sure Are Nasty; 15 I’ll Be Around (Original Mike Maurro Extended Remix); 16 Could It Be I’m Falling In Love (Tom Moulton Mix); 17 One Of A Kind (Love Affair) [Tom Moulton Mix]; 18 I’ll Be Around (Single Version)