SoulMusic Records is exceptionally pleased to present “Let It Be Me,” a 3CD complete collection of the super-soulful Atlantic recordings by THE SWEET INSPIRATIONS, the legendary group known for their own recordings as well as their background work with Aretha Franklin and Elvis Presley among many others…

Released September 17, 2021, this superb 3CD set features 66 tracks by The Sweet Inspirations cut for Atlantic Records between 1967 and 1970.

• With nine US R&B charted singles, the set features their five original Atlantic albums alongside 12 non-album tracks.

• This comprehensive collection from soulful quartet (Cissy Houston, Estelle Brown, Sylvia Shemwell and Myrna Smith) the voices behind a plethora of hitmakers including Solomon Burke, The Drifters, Aretha Franklin, Elvis Presley, Wilson Pickett and many others, who were signed in their own right by Atlantic executive Jerry Wexler in 1967.

Including the Top 5 R&B and Top 20 pop hit, ‘Sweet Inspiration’, written by famed southern soul writers Linden ‘Spooner’ Oldham and Dan Penn from their first album THE SWEET INSPIRATIONS from 1967; 1968’s ‘WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW IS LOVE Is LOVE’ and the gospel homage Cissy Drinkard and The Sweet Inspirations: SONGS OF FAITH & INSPIRATION; 1969’s ‘SWEETS FOR MY SWEET’ recorded at Fame Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama (with the title track, a revival of The Drifters’ 1961 hit) and 1970’s ‘SWEET SWEET SOUL,’ which includes ‘(Gotta Find) A Brand New Lover’ a US Top 30 R&B hit that featured lead vocals by Cissy Houston.

The set –  which is sequenced chronologically by recording session – also includes eight tracks with the line up including Ann Williams who replaced Cissy Houston; produced by Dave Crawford and Brad Shapiro, it was originally intended for release as an entire LP and has never been released in full until now.

With stellar liner notes by renowned US writer/essayist Tim Dillinger including extensive quotes from Estelle Brown specifically for this re-issue, and produced by SoulMusic Records’ founder David Nathan, with mastering by Nick Robbins and artwork by Roger Williams.





1 Let It Be Me
2 Why (Am I Treated So Bad)
3 That’s How Strong My Love Is
4 I Don’t Want To Go On Without You
5 Knock On Wood
6 When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
7 I’ve Been Loving You Too Long
8 Reach Out For Me
9 Just Walk In My Shoes
10 Do Right Woman-Do Right Man
11 Here I Am (Take Me)
12 Don’t Let Me Lose This Dream
13 Blues Stay Away From Me
14 I’m Blue
15 Sweet Inspiration
16 Don’t Fight It
17 Oh! What A Fool I’ve Been
18 Am I Ever Gonna See My Baby Again
19 I Could Leave You Alone
20 To Love Somebody
21 Where Did It Go
22 You Really Didn’t Mean It


1 Watch The One (Who Brings You The News)
2 Unchained Melody
3 Alfie
4 What The World Needs Now Is Love
5 Everyday Will Be Like A Holiday
6 Crying In The Rain
7 Chained
8 Get A Little Order
9 It’s Worth It All
10 Let Me Be Lonely
11 It’s Not Easy
12 Sweets For My Sweet
13 Don’t Go
14 Always David
15 But You Know I Love You
16 (Gotta Find) A Brand New Lover (Single Version) Part 1
17 (Gotta Find) A Brand New Lover (Single Version) Part 2
18 Shut-Up!!!
19 Give My Love To Somebody
20 Two Can Play The Game
21 (Gotta Find) A Brand New Lover, Part 1 & 2
22 Ain’t Nothin’ In The World
23 Them Boys
24 Flash In The Pan
25 At Last I’ve Found A Love
26 That’s The Way My Baby Is


1 I’ve Been Inspired To Love You
2 Ain’t Nothing Gonna Change Me
3 This World
4 Light Sings
5 Medley: (a) Little Green Apples/(b)Think/(c)Something
6 Make It Easy On Yourself
7 Change Me Not
8 Evidence
9 Pilgrims Of Sorrow
10 Down By The Riverside
11 The 23rd Psalm
12 Without A Doubt
13 He’ll Fight
14 Swing Low
15 I Shall Know Him
16 What A Friend We Have In Jesus
17 Looking On The Bright Side
18 Guide Me